香港的公共财政与儿童权利

香港的公共财政与儿童权利

2016年,联合国儿童权利委员会公布第19号一般性意见《公共预算编制与儿童权利》,指出社会大众应有权获取详细和方便使用的资料,了解儿童的状况以及公共财政改善儿童福祉和权利的目标和方法。有见及此,我们就着2018-19年度财政预算案进行分析,透过研究儿童相关的政府部门和机构的用钱方式,了解政府推行儿童相关政策时的缓急轻重以及这些政策改善儿童福祉的效用。在政策制定过程中考虑儿童福祉的重要性

缺乏清晰的预算

联合国儿童权利委员会要求缔约国在儿童的政策上进行清晰的财政预算,列明所有直接和间接影响儿童的项目。可是,2018-19年度财政预算案有关儿童的部分却是模糊不清。有关儿童的财政预算很多时候都融合在其他项目当中。

政府部门或机构 政策范畴 2018-19年度财政预算
政制及内地事务局 个人权利(包括儿童) $30.3 million
卫生署 预防疾病(包括儿童) $6,032.5 million
劳工及福利局 社会福利(包括儿童) $442.9 million
康乐及文化事务署 康乐及体育(包括儿童) $ 4,180.7 million
社会福利署 违法者服务(包括儿童) $379.5 million

虽然我们可以见到有关儿童政策和服务的概述,但社会大众无法清晰知道公共财政是如何运用在儿童身上。我们甚至不知道有多少百分比的公共资源是和儿童有关。

缺乏详细和可靠的儿童数据

每一个政府都需要可靠、及时、容易使用和详细的资料和数据了解现时和未来的儿童状况。这些资讯是一个重要的基础,帮助政府在法例、政策和服务上直接和间接改善儿童权利状况。因此,每一个政府都需要立和维持一个儿童数据库,让所有执行和监察相关政策的人可以随时得到客观和可靠的资讯。世界各国的儿童福祉框架

现时,香港没有一个政府部门负责处理儿童相关的数据。儿童的数据散落在不同的政府部门之中。有些数据更不是公开予大众使用。另一方面,政府统计处的数据按年龄层划分(0-4岁;5-9岁;10-14岁;15-19岁),要根据国际标准了解香港18岁以下儿童的状况便变得相当困难。加上统计处很多都是宏观的数据,我们根本无从得知在不同特殊状况下儿童的状况。

上一期有关潜藏危机的香港儿童权利报告探讨5岁智障男童杨智维因为照顾者吸毒而惨死的案件,报告发现政府没有任何有关吸毒父母照顾下的子女的数据。可是,我们的研究发现单单是2013至2015年已经有至少11个儿童因为父母吸毒而被疏忽照顾、遭受虐待、被父母从高空抛下、在尿液样本中被验出有毒品、被迫或错误进食/饮用含有毒品的食物、甚至死亡。现时,药物滥用资料中央档案室负责收集和毒品有关的数据,当中包括吸毒人数、吸毒频密程度、吸毒地点、吸毒人士的经济状况和犯罪记录等详尽的资料。但档案室偏偏就是没有收集在吸毒人士照顾下的儿童数目。这个情况令人担忧,因为资料显示,大部分(80%)的吸毒人士都会在家中/朋友家中吸食毒品。而杨智维就正正是因为他母亲和他母亲的男朋友在家中吸毒而不幸离世。

香港有很多重要的数据反映儿童所面对的挑战。可是,这些数据都是一次性(例如政府会在立法会议员的提问下披露一次性的资讯),而不是公开、持续、有系统的。公众人士根本不知道儿童的状况是否得到改善。服务单位亦缺乏足够的数据为儿童作出长远的规划。

居住在家庭住户内18岁以下的残疾儿童人口(包括身体活动能力受限制、视觉有困难、听觉有困难、言语能力有困难、精神病/情绪病、自闭症特殊学习困难、注意力不足/过度活跃症等) 24,000
(2013年)
18岁以下非就学的的残疾儿童人口 900
(2013年)

2013年非就学的的残疾儿童人口

在2018-19年度财政预算案中,我们看不到儿童相关的数据和公共财政的关系,我们看不到政府是基于什么数据和资料为儿童进行财政预算。根据现时财政预算案的表达形式,公众人士实在摸不着头究竟公共财政是否能够有效地运用在儿童身上。

没有关注在不同特殊的状况下儿童的情况

每一个政府在进行财政预算的时候都会确保有足够的数据,以了解不同群组的儿童的状况,及确保儿童权利公约第二条「消除歧视」的理念得以落实。缔约国有责任保护儿童免受歧视,「不因儿童或其父母或法定监护人的种族、肤色、性别、语言、宗教、政治或其他见解、民族、族裔或社会出身、财产、伤残、出生或其他身份而有任何差别」。政府在不同层面,包括在拟定和执行和财政预算相关的法律、政策和服务时都不应直接或间接歧视某一个特定群组的儿童。

2018-19年度的财政预算案甚少触及不同特殊状况下儿童的状况。有关儿童的服务很多时候都融合在其他为成人而设的服务当中。在特殊状况下儿童的状况更显得模糊不清。康文署在财政预算之中有关「康乐及体育」的简介是一个很好的例子。

政府部门 政策范畴 政策描述
康乐及文化事务署 康乐及体育
  • 制定提供康体设施和活动的政策及策略,尤其着重健体活动及运动安全;
  • 发展和管理康体设施,例如体育馆、公园、花园、游泳池、宪报公布的泳滩及度假营;
  • 举办康体活动;
  • 向体育总会及体育团体提供资助金,以供训练运动员和举办体育活动;以及
  • 向由11间非政府机构管理的24个度假营和海上活动中心提供资助金,以供为市民举办康乐活动。

以上的政策描述并没有提及儿童的需要,亦没有解释这些政策、策略、设施、活动和服务可以怎样帮助残障儿童、长期病患的儿童、少数族裔儿童、不同文化背景的儿童、居住在不同地区的儿童等。这些儿童很明显需要额外的协助才可以和其他儿童和成人一样享受悠闲和玩乐的权利。可是,我们看不到政府特别投放资源为这些群组儿童的特殊需要建立设施。

缺乏质性的指标

缔约有责任订立清晰和统一的量性和质性目标和指标,以显示在现有资源下,儿童的经济、社会和文化权利的持续实现。政府亦有责任以清晰的指标解释其用钱的原则和方法。可是,这种质性的指标在2018-19年度的财政预算案是非常少见。以社会福利署「家庭和儿童福利」政策范畴为例,我们只能够看见临时住宿照顾服务的宿位、入住率和每一个宿位所需要的支出。可是,我们没有任何质性的数据,例如院舍的平均入住时间和平均轮候时间。没有这些数据,我们实在是难以衡量公共支出对在危儿童需要的成效。其他的案例(包括保护家庭及儿童个案、领养个案、临床心理支援服务评估和治疗个案)也面临同样的情况-现时我们只有相关案例的数目。这些零碎的数字并不足以让我们知道如何真正实践儿童应有的权利。

社会福利署-2018-19年度的财政预算案「家庭和儿童福利」政策范畴

指标 2016-17 2017-18 2018-19

寄养服务

名额

使用率(%)

每个名额平均每月成本(元)

 

1,070

86

13,076

 

1,130

84

15,004

 

1,130

84

17,595

儿童之家

名额

使用率(%)

每个名额平均每月成本(元)

 

864

93

20,943

 

894

91

22,194

 

894

91

25,444

儿童院舍

名额

使用率(%)

每个名额平均每月成本(元)

 

1,708

82

17,616

 

1,778

84

18,205

 

1,778

84

20,751

独立幼儿中心

名额

使用率(%)

每个名额平均每月成本(元)

 

738

100

822

 

747

100

1,649

 

895

100

1,762

暂托幼儿服务

单位数目

 

217

 

217

 

217

保护家庭及儿童服务

保护家庭及儿童个案数目

每宗个案平均每月成本(元)

 

7,341

2,363

 

7,270

2,370

 

7,292

2,552

领养服务

可于3个月内入住本地家庭的待领养儿童人数

 

51

 

45

 

45

临床心理支援服务

评估个案数目

治疗个案数目

 

2,253

1,006

 

2,328

1,134

 

2,328

1,134

联合国儿童权利委员会第19号一般性意见《公共预算编制与儿童权利》的目的是让缔约国更加了解儿童权利公约所订明有关公共财政的责任,以确保公共财政的计划、落实和执行方法能够得以改变,儿童权利公约以及它的任择议定书能够得到落实。缔约国需要尽可能跟从这一些原则。

一个考虑周详的儿童福祉框架能够帮助政府有效分析当地的儿童权利状况以及针对儿童的不同需要制定务实的公共财政预算。

<<< 上一篇

儿童福祉的定义和相关概念

 

下一篇 >>>

世界各国的儿童福祉框架 – 了解每一个儿童真正的需要

 

COMMENTS

How Child Well-Being is Reflected in the Budget of Hong Kong

How Child Well-Being is Reflected in the Budget of Hong Kong

The United Nations Committee on the Rights of the Child announced General Comment No. 19 on Public Budgeting for the Realization of Children’s Rights in 2016. The Committee underlines the importance of the community having access to detailed, user-friendly information about the situation of children and a clear understanding of how budget proposals aim to improve children’s well-being and advance their rights. For this reason, we have conducted a Budget Research on the Budget Estimates of the HKSAR Government for the year of 2018/2019. Budget Research is also important in finding out how key child-related government bureaus and departments spend money on children as a way to reflect the true priorities of our child-related policies and whether these policies can take care of the different aspects of child well-being. The importance of considering child well-being in policy-making

Lack of Clear Spending on Children

The UN Committee requires every government to identify which budget allocations directly target children, and which budget allocations indirectly affect children.

In the 2018/2019 Budget Estimates, however, it is not easy to see clear public budgeting on children making the children’s perspective unclear and abstract. There is a lack of disaggregated data on children, and their needs are often incorporated into the general mass.

Bureau / Department Policy Area Budget Estimates for 2018/19
Constitutional and Mainland Affairs Bureau (CMAB) Rights of the Individual (including children) $30.3 million
Department of Health (DH) Disease Prevention (including children) $6,032.5 million
Labour and Welfare Bureau (LWB) Social Welfare (including children) $442.9 million
Leisure and Cultural Services Department (LCSD) Recreation and Sports (including children) $ 4,180.7 million
Social Welfare Department (SWD) Services for Offenders (including children) $379.5 million

Even though there is some description on the projects and services related to children, the community is still confused in the budget maze of public spending on children. Neither the percentage nor the estimated amount to be spent on children have been indicated.

Lack of Comprehensive and Reliable Data on Children

Every government needs reliable, timely, accessible and comprehensive disaggregated information and data in reusable formats on the child rights situation, both current and projected. Such information is fundamental to creating legislation, policies and programmes to directly or indirectly target and advance the rights of the child. For this reason, every government has a need to establish and maintain a database of all policies and resources affecting children so that those involved in implementing and monitoring the corresponding programmes and services have ongoing access to objective and reliable information. Overseas child well-being frameworks

In Hong Kong, no specific government department is responsible for handling child data. Child data are scattered among government departments and some data are not open for public use. The age groups used by the Census and Statistics Department are 0-4, 5-9, 10-14 and 15-19 and this makes it hard to focus on analyzing and comparing conditions of children under 18. And these data is mostly generic, with no specific data on children in special circumstances.

In our previous investigation Child Rights Review on Hidden Harm followed the tragic death of Yeung Chi-wai, a 5-year-old boy with down syndrome and was under the care of adults with drug behaviours, we discovered that government has no data on children caught in similar situation. However, our research found at least 11 kids were abused, neglected, poisoned, dropped from height, injured or even died as a result of parental substance abuse in 2013-15. Drug related data is mainly attributed by the Central Registry of Drug Abuse (CRDA) at present. While there is data related to drug abuse population, frequency and locality of abusing drugs, economic activity status, criminal record… and so on, the Registry however has no data on the number of children under the care of substance abuse parents or carers. This is particularly worrisome, as the current data indicates that the majority of drug abusers use drugs at home or at their friend’s home (80%). Yeung Chi-wai also died at home where his mother and his mother’s boyfriend had drug behaviours.

Many important data reflects the challenging situation that children are facing. However, it is only given one-off upon replying a question raised by a politician for example (below), and is not systematically collected and revealed for public monitoring in a sustainable manner. The public has no idea if the situation has been improved, and the service providers also lack information to plan for service provision.

Children with disabilities aged below 18 residing in domestic households (including restriction in body movement, seeing difficulty, hearing difficulty, speech difficulty, mental illness / mood disorder, autism, specific learning difficulties and attention deficit / hyperactivity disorder) 24,000
(Year 2013)
Number of disabled persons aged under 18 not studying 900
(Year 2013)

No. of children with disabilities not receiving school education in 2013

In the Budget Estimates of 2018/2019, we could not see information on how the budget statements have been prepared with reference to the data related to children. The public is head scratching and is difficult to monitor if the public money has been spent in an effective and efficient way by just looking at the budget statement in the current format.

Lack of Consideration for Children in Different Circumstances

Every government in planning the budget has to ensure available information on the situation of children is disaggregated in useful ways considering different groups of children and the principle of ‘non-discrimination’ in article 2 of the Convention. State parties are obliged to protect children from all kinds of discrimination “irrespective of the child’s or his or her parent’s or legal guardian’s race, colour, sex, language, religion, political or other opinion, national, ethnic or social origin, property, disability, birth or other status”. States parties, at all administrative levels, should serve to prevent discrimination and shall not directly or indirectly discriminate against children in budget-related legislation, policies or programmes, in their content or implementation.

In the 2018/2019 budget estimates, the needs of children under different circumstances are rarely reflected, and the provision of services are usually mixed with the general public. The specific needs of vulnerable children are totally blurred in the public budget. Let’s look at the policy description of one of the policy areas ‘Recreation and Sports’ under the Leisure and Cultural Services Department in the budget estimates as an example.

Department Policy Area Policy Description
Leisure and Cultural Services Department (LCSD) Recreation and Sports
  • Formulating policies and strategies for the provision of leisure and sports facilities and activities with particular focus on physical fitness and sports safety;
  • Developing and managing leisure facilities such as sports centres, parks and gardens, swimming pools, gazetted beaches and holiday camps;
  • Organising recreation, sports and leisure activities;
  • Providing subvention to “national sports associations” (NSAs) and sports organisations for training athletes and organising sports activities; and
  • Providing subvention to 24 holiday camps and sea activity centres managed by 11 non-government organisations to provide recreational activities for members of the public.

The policy description, however, has no particular mention on children, and it has no explanation on how these policies, strategies, facilities, activities and programmes could benefit children with disabilities, children with long-term illness, children with ethnic minority origins and cultural background, children with territorial difference…etc, who apparently need additional support so as to enjoy the equal rights of leisure and play with other children and people. We however cannot see the government allocate any additional resources for the building of facilities that particularly suit their needs.

Lack of Qualitative Indicators

State parties are obliged to use clear and consistent qualitative and quantitative goals and indicators to illustrate the progressive realization of children’s economic, social and cultural rights to the maximum extent of available resources, as well as the realization of the immediate obligations imposed by those rights. Governments have the duty to explain why and how public money is spent with clear indicators. The qualitative indicators, however, are rare in the 2018-2019 budget estimates. If we look at the Policy Area of ‘Family and Child Welfare’ of the Social Welfare Department, we could only see the number of out-of-home care places, the enrolment rate, and the amount to be spent per place. However, we could not see the qualitative data, for example, the average duration of a child needs to spend in alternative care; the average waiting time for such a placement… etc. If these are not being touched on, it is difficult to evaluate if the public money is actually spent on realizing the rights of children in needy or even risky situation.

It is the same case for child protection cases that need supervision, child adoption, and cases that need clinical psychological support, the indicators are only reflected by the number of cases. This provides meagre information on how the rights of children entitled could be realized.

Social Welfare Department – Policy Area of ‘Family and Child Welfare’ in the 2018-19 Budget Estimates

Indicators 2016-17 2017-18 2018-19

Foster Care

No. of places

Enrolment rate (%)

Cost per place per month ($)

 

1,070

86

13,076

 

1,130

84

15,004

 

1,130

84

17,595

Small Group Homes (SGHs)

No. of places

Enrolment rate (%)

Cost per place per month ($)

 

864

93

20,943

 

894

91

22,194

 

894

91

25,444

Residential Homes for Children (RHCs)

No. of places

Enrolment rate (%)

Cost per place per month ($)

 

1,708

82

17,616

 

1,778

84

18,205

 

1,778

84

20,751

Standalone Child Care Centres

No. of places

Enrolment rate (%)

Cost per place per month ($)

 

738

100

822

 

747

100

1,649

 

895

100

1,762

Occasional Child Care (OCC)

No. of units

 

217

 

217

 

217

Family and Child Protection

Supervision cases served

Cost per case per month ($)

 

7,341

2,363

 

7,270

2,370

 

7,292

2,552

Adoption

Children available for adoption placed in local homes within three months

 

51

 

45

 

45

Clinical Psychological Support

Assessment cases served

Treatment cases served

 

2,253

1,006

 

2,328

1,134

 

2,328

1,134

The objective of the General Comment No. 19 on Public Budgeting for the Realization of Children’s Rights (2016) announced by the United Nations Committee on the Rights of the Child is aimed to improve understanding of the obligations under the Convention in relation to budgeting for children’s rights so as to strengthen the realization of those rights, and to promote real change in the way budgets are planned, enacted, executed and followed up in order to advance implementation of the Convention and its Optional Protocols. State parties of the Convention are asked to follow through at the maximum extent.

A well thought child well-being framework developed would definitely assist governments in doing child rights situation analysis and preparing budget to meet the needs of children fall into different circumstances.

<<< Previous article

Child well-being: Definition and Key Concepts

 

Next article >>>

Overseas frameworks: Assessing the needs of each and every child

 

COMMENTS