為何策劃是次報告

為何策劃是次報告

經過社會各界在過去20年來鍥而不捨的爭取後,香港政府終於2018年6月1日成立兒童事務委員會。兒童事務委員會的職權範圍訂明,委員會「的願景是確保香港是一個尊重及保障所有兒童權利、權益和福祉、聆聽兒童聲音,以及讓所有兒童得以健康快樂成長,全面發展並充分發揮潛能的地方。」

為此,兒童事務委員會將會:

  1. 就有關兒童發展及成長制定政策、訂定策略及工作優次,並監察其實施情況;
  2. 加強和監察以整合和理順不同政策局╱部門下與兒童有關的政策和措施,並與諮詢組織作出協調;
  3. 檢討政府和非政府機構與兒童相關的服務,促進跨界別合作,並識別需要整合及改善的地方;
  4. 推廣並宣揚聯合國《兒童權利公約》所列明的兒童權利,並讓兒童參與有關影響他們的事宜;
  5. 管理應有兒童和持份者參與的推廣和公共教育項目資助計劃,並舉辦其他推廣活動;以及
  6. 制定一個設有指標的框架以監察及評估其達致願景的程度。

這個研究報告的目的正正是回應兒童事務委員會在香港展開的新時代。透過是次報告,我們希望可以探討兒童福祉的意義;以及剖析香港現時的政策漏洞。我們亦希望是次報告對於兒童事務委員會為兒童所作出的政策和籌劃具參考價值。同時,我們亦會援引世界各地量度兒童福祉的工具和實行方法。

一提到外國例子,很多人的反應會是:「香港不是外國。外國做到的,我們做不到」。又或者是:「香港不是外國。我們不能硬生生把外國的一套搬到香港去。」的確,我們不能未經思考而將外國的做法照辦煮碗直接搬到香港去,但這不代表外國的例子就沒有值得學習/參考的地方。例如,從我們的資料搜集可見,英澳兩國都全面地分析兒童的福祉,而且他們的分析和政策決定都是有研究和數據支持的。兩國的政府亦促進不同持份者的合作,好讓他們可以在自己的崗位中提升兒童的福祉。而在整個過程中,所有與兒童有關的專業人士和兒童本身都參與其中。又例如澳洲有一站式的網頁讓家長、老師和不同持份者得到他們需要的資訊。英國亦設計了兒童友善的報告讓兒童知道政府政策和他們的切身關係。毋庸置疑,這一切都是香港可以做,切實可行可以提升兒童福祉的措施。因此,當香港面對學童自殺和虐待兒童的問題,我們沒有藉口坐視不理。政府和與兒童相關的專業人士應對於兒童福祉有一個整全的視野,並及早行動,改善兒童福祉。

在政策制定過程中考慮兒童福祉的重要性

大部份人,包括政府,都會毫不遲疑地說兒童福祉(Child Well-Being)是很重要的。但當我們為兒童釐定政策目標和方向的時候,兒童的整體福祉是否我們所考慮的核心呢?這個問題很重要。因為如果答案是「否」的話,我們的行動便和理念不相符。而這種落差可能意味著我們的政策有漏洞,以致我們的兒童政策未見成效,很多與兒童相關的議題(例如虐兒問題、學童自殺的問題)未被解決。

分析政府的財政預算可以幫助我們解答這個問題,因為政府的用錢方法可以真實地反映各個部門在處理兒童議題時候的緩急輕重。藉著分析,我們亦可以知道現行的政策是否可以全面地照顧兒童的福祉,涵括兒童身、心、靈各方面的需要。

與兒童相關的政策散落在不同部門中,而且大多都是針對現有問題的止血方案

香港並沒有一個整全的兒童政策。與兒童相關的政策零碎地散落在不同的部門中,而且大多都是針對現有問題的止血方案。政府政策鮮有對於兒童整體福祉的視野。當一個問題(例如學童自殺)開始浮現的時候,政府便會作出補救方案。可是,通常這個時候入手已經是太遲了。沒有一個清晰全面的兒童政策和針對兒童福祉的評估,我們很難期望政府政策可以滿足香港兒童各方面的需要。

在這個資訊爆炸的年代裏,實在有太多太多的議題需要我們的關注;所以到最後,只有最戲劇化的故事、最轟動的劇情才可以吸引大眾的關注。社會大眾因此便很容易著眼於某些議題,而促使政府採取相應的措施。兒童福祉的大圖像卻是未被觸及。很多時候,邊緣兒童切身的需要因為缺乏傳媒和公眾的關注而漸漸被忽略,跌入政策的漏洞之中。這個確實不是一個社會大眾願意看見的局面。只有政府積極全面地考慮兒童的福祉,我們的政策和服務才能夠真正滿足所有兒童各方面的需要。

將著眼點放在兒童的福祉而不是他們所面對的問題上

在政策制定的過程中考慮兒童福祉不但可以幫助我們照顧每一個兒童各方面的需要;將著眼點放在兒童的福祉而不是他們所面對的問題上亦是現今的大趨勢。「心理學研究的重心正由我們所面對的困難、焦慮和疾病轉移至人們獲得正面特質的方法、社會環境對人類福祉的影響、以及人類各種的可能性。」 (Kelly, quoted in McAuley 23).

這種重心的轉移尤其適用於兒童,因為兒童在成長的過程中有無限的可能性:「對於兒童成長和發展的樂觀態度正廣泛滲透在兒童福祉的研究當中。這些研究已漸漸達成共識:如果兒童透過探索獲取經驗,提升抗逆力,他們便有能力在逆境中戰勝各種的困難。」(Schaffer, quoted in McAuley 24). 有見及此,政府和政策倡議者不但應該正視兒童所面對的困難;與此同時,他們亦應看見兒童無限的可能性。

「政府投資兒童福祉乃是明智之選」

由此可見,政府在政策制定過程中應全面考慮兒童的福祉和需要。事實上,政府投資兒童福祉乃是明智之選。如果政府投資在兒童身上,社會所得到的回報會延續至下一代,甚至再下一代。正如學者Ben-Arieh所言,投資兒童福祉 (well-being of children) 最重要的目的是投資未來-兒童長大成人後整個社會的長遠發展 (well-becoming of children) (Ben-Arieh, quoted in McAuley 21)。學者James J. Heckman亦多番強調,加強幼兒和在危兒童的照顧能夠有效地減低社會成本 (Heckman, 2017) 。聯合國兒童基金會因諾琴蒂研究中心甚至指出「一個國家的興衰成敗往往真實地反映在它對於兒童的健康、人生安全、物質保障和教育等各方面的照顧上:包括兒童是否被愛、被尊重、被家庭和社會接納。」(UNICEF, quoted in McAuley 23). 由此可見,兒童的健康是一個國家的財產。兒童福祉亦是一個合理、對於未來有視野的政府投資的必然之選。

香港有責任投資在兒童的福祉上

事實上,政府不但有絕對的理由投資在兒童身上,投資兒童的福祉亦是香港的責任。聯合國兒童權利公約自1994年在香港生效,香港有責任建設一個尊重兒童權利的社會。政府在擬定和落實不同政策的時候應考慮兒童的最佳利益和聆聽兒童的聲音。

建議:在政策擬定過程中就兒童的福祉釐定清晰的標準和框架

近年來,越來越多18歲以下的兒童受到情緒病和精神健康問題的困擾。很多兒童甚至選擇了結自己的生命,令整個社會為之震。另一方面,邊緣兒童,包括殘障兒童、特殊需要兒童、少數族裔兒童及低收入家庭的兒童的需要仍然受到社會大眾的關注。正當香港政府於2018年6月1日宣布成立兒童事務委員會的同時,我們希望委員會可以以兒童的福祉和最佳利益為政策擬定和政府財政的核心,以真正反映香港18歲以下110萬兒童的需要。

 

下一篇 >>>

兒童福祉的定義和相關概念

 

COMMENTS

Why This Review

Why This Review

The Hong Kong government has formed the Commission on Children on 1 June 2018 after continuous advocacy from the civil society for over two decades. In its Terms of Reference, the Commission “envisions to ensure that Hong Kong is a place where all children’s rights, interests and well-being are respected and safeguarded, their voices are heard, and where all children enjoy healthy and happy growth and optimal development so as to achieve their fullest potentials.”   

In order to achieve this, the Commission will

  1. develop policies, set strategies and priorities related to the development and advancement of children, and oversee their implementation;
  2. enhance and monitor integration and rationalisation of children-related policies and initiatives under different bureaus/departments and with advisory bodies;
  3. review children-related services by the Government and non-governmental organisations, foster cross-sector collaboration, and identify areas for better integration and improvement;
  4. promote and promulgate children’s rights as articulated in the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child, and engage with children on matters that affect them;
  5. manage funding schemes for promotional and public educational projects which should have children’s and stakeholders’ participation, and organise other promotional activities; and
  6. develop a framework with indicators to monitor and evaluate the extent to which the vision is achieved.

This Child Rights Review comes as a timely investigation. In this Review, we attempt to explore the meaning of child’s well-being and demonstrate the existing gaps now in Hong Kong. We hope this Child Rights Review could serve as a good reference for the Commission on Children in steering the policies and plans for the good of every child in our city. In this review, we would also refer to the good practices and tools from overseas on how child well-being could be practically measured.

A common reaction to overseas examples is: “This is not Hong Kong, we cannot do this”. Or: “This is not Hong Kong, it is not directly applicable on our situation”. While it is true that we cannot directly copy and paste the foreign model to local situation, there is still a lot that we can learn. For example, from our analysis, we can see that both Australia and the United Kingdom take a holistic view of child well-being and base their analysis and policy decision-making on evidence and research. We can see that the government of both countries facilitate the cooperation of different stakeholders so that they can enhance child well-being in their own setting. We can also see that throughout this entire process, all child-related professionals and children are informed. Australia for example has one-stop portals that allow parents, teachers and different stakeholders to access information they need easily. In the UK, they have also developed child-friendly materials to let children know what the government policies mean to them. These are undoubtedly things that could be done in Hong Kong and could improve the well-being of children in Hong Kong. In Hong Kong, we might face different problems such as student suicide and child abuse, however, there is no excuse for us to not do anything. It is crucial for government and child-related professionals to start taking a holistic approach on child well-being and to ACT NOW.

Why Child Well-Being Matters

Most people, including the government, would not hesitate to say that child well-being is important. But do we truly think in terms of child well-being? Does it orient the way policy makers think when they design and evaluate policies and services? This question is important, because if it doesn’t when many claim that it does, this inconsistency may imply that there is a system gap/failure that hampers the effectiveness of our child-related policies and prevents us from solving many of the burning child-related issues in Hong Kong.  

Budget research is important in answering this question, because the way key child-related government bureaus and departments spend money on children reflects the true priorities of our child-related policies and whether these policies can take care of the different aspects of child well-being.

Child-Related Policies in Hong Kong Are Fragmented and Problem-Driven

Hong Kong does not have a unified policy for children. Policy-making and evaluation in the area of children is fragmented in Hong Kong and is driven primarily by specific problems rather than the vision to improve the well-being of children as a whole. Often times, remedial measures would only be taken when the problem has become visible. However, by the time when a problem has become visible, it may already be too late. Without a clear and holistic Child Policy and assessment of children’s well-being in Hong Kong, it is unrealistic to expect that government policies are adequate in addressing the needs of all children in Hong Kong.

In this information saturated world, there are too many issues that catch our attention, so in the end, only the most dramatic stories would stand out easily. Therefore, it would be very easy for society to focus on specific issues and for the government to respond to their concerns leaving the whole child well-being picture untouched of. Very often, the imminent needs of marginalized children would fail to capture media and public attention and would easily be neglected and fallen into system gaps as a result. Nonetheless, it is only by considering child well-being as a whole could our policies and services truly satisfy the needs of all children.

From a Problem-Driven to a Value-Driven Approach

Not only can the consideration of child well-being ensure that our policy can take care of the specific needs of every child in Hong Kong, focusing on the well-being of children instead of the problems they face is in fact a trend in the academic field. “The work of psychologists is moving from an emphasis upon the troubles, the anxieties, the sickness of people, to an interest in how we acquire positive qualities, and how social influences contribute to perceptions of well-being, personal effectiveness and even joy.” (Kelly, quoted in McAuley 23).

This is especially true for children as they are still growing with unlimited possibilities: “The optimism about growth and development has permeated research on children’s development and well-being. There is a growing understanding that children can change their behavior of adversity, including the impact of rejection, separation and loss, provided they have subsequent experiences that help to build their resilience.” (Schaffer, quoted in McAuley 24). It is therefore time for policy makers and advocates to recognize the potentials and well-being of children in addition to the problems they face.

A Government that Focuses on Child Well-Being is a Government that Makes a Good Investment

From the above analysis therefore, it is evident that the government should consider comprehensively the well-being and needs of children in its policies. In fact, a government that focuses on child well-being is a government that makes a good investment. If a government spends money on children, the effect of that amount of money would snowball to the next generation and even further.  As elaborated by the scholar Ben-Arieh, the central purpose of paying attention to child well-being is to make an investment in the future, in the “well-becoming” of children (Ben-Arieh, quoted in McAuley 21). Renowned scholar James J. Heckman repeatedly proved the importance of early childhood and the support to at-risk children is an effective strategy for reducing social costs (Heckman, 2017). The UNICEF Innocenti Research Center even asserts that “the true measure of a nation’s standing is how well it attends to its children – their health and safety, their material security, their education and socialization, and their sense of being loved, valued, and included in the families and societies into which they are born” (UNICEF, quoted in McAuley 23). This shows that children’s health is a nation’s wealth. Child well-being matters because it is what a sound government that has a vision for the future should invest in.

Hong Kong is Obliged to Invest on Children

In fact, not only do we have a good reason to invest on children, we are also obliged to do so. Since the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child (UNCRC) has come into effect in Hong Kong since 1994, our government has the obligation to build a society that respects the rights of children. It should consider the Best Interest of the Child and listen to the voice of children when making and implementing policies related to them.

Recommendation: Value-Driven Policy-Making with Clear Standards and Frameworks

In recent years, more and more children under the age of 18 are suffering from mental health and emotional problems in Hong Kong. Many even resorted to suicide which has greatly shaken the society. On the other hand, the needs of marginalized children, such as the children with disabilities, children with special needs, ethnic minorities, and those living in low income families, continue to be a matter of concern in our society. As the Hong Kong government has announced the formation of Commission on Children on 1 June 2018, we hope that the Commission would place child well-being and the best Interest of the child at the center of policy-making and government budgeting so as to truly reflect the needs of the 1.1 million children under the age of 18 in Hong Kong.

Next article >>>

Child well-being: Definition and Key Concepts

 

COMMENTS