世界各國的兒童福祉框架 – 政策含義

世界各國的兒童福祉框架 – 政策含義

兒童福祉框架可以幫助我們更加認識兒童的需要和他們所面對的挑戰。可是,單純的認識是不足夠的。對於兒童的認識需要轉化為實際的政策計劃和行動才是有意義的。以下是英澳兩國針對兒童福祉所推行的政策。

英國全國推行的政策

兒童和青少年精神健康和福祉

兒童和青少年精神健康和福祉專案組專門研究如何改善現時兒童精神健康服務的管理和營運方法;以及讓青少年更加容易透過志願組織和網上平台得到幫助和支援。

專案組匯聚了與兒童及青少年精神健康服務相關的專業人士,亦集合了理解教育、社會服務和醫療系統運作的人才。專案組亦委託其他和兒童及青少年精神健康相關的專業人士提供意見。

放眼未來-推動、保護和提升我們兒童及青少年的精神健康和福祉
專案組出版了一系列《放眼未來》的報告,明確列出政府於2020年希望見到的改變:

  • 反對污名化,教育公眾,改善他們對精神疾病的態度
  • 為服務的輪候時間以及公眾接觸服務的容易程度訂立準則
  • 在社區提供一站式支援服務
  • 讓邊緣兒童和青少年更加容易接觸不同種類的服務

報告指出以上的目標可以透過英國國民保健署、地方政府、義務和慈善服務、學校和其他社區服務的動力合作達成。報告亦指出,要達成以上目標,增撥資源是其次,最重要的是改變工作模式。

這個報告亦有兒童友善版本,讓兒童知道政府和專案組對他們所作出的承諾。以下是一個例子:

英國兒童事務委員會
除了兒童和青少年精神健康和福祉專案組的工作以外,英國兒童事務委員會亦有出版報告,詳列政府應該投資兒童精神健康和福祉的原因。報告中亦概括了改善兒童和青少年精神健康切實可行的方法,以供社區服務單位參考。

學校為本政策

促進兒童和青少年的情緒健康和福祉
英國國民保健署出版了一個報告,就著8個在學校促進情緒健康和福祉的原則為各校校長提供指引。這8個原則得到研究支持以及前線工作者的肯定。報告亦提供實際例子和資源供學校參考。

除了校長之外,這個報告對於學校、教育工作者、學校護士、社區保健小組、辦學團體以及其他關注兒童健康和福祉的人士都甚有參考價值。

學校中的健康、安全和福祉
政府為老師和教育工作者提供學生福祉方面的指引和資源。

西澳-校園健康促進框架

校園健康促進框架(The Health Promoting Schools Framework)兼顧學校之中所有成員的健康、社交和情感需要。這個框架是世界衛生組織根據渥太華憲章所訂立的,目的是為學生提供正面的經驗和架構,透過三個不同方面保障和推動他們的健康發展:

在這個框架之下,學校會透過既定的程序作出改變,並不時檢討他們所作出的改變:

  • 準備
  • 建立一個共同的構想
  • 確立不同議題的緩急先後
  • 制定行動計劃
  • 展開行動
  • 檢討、反思、為未來作出計劃

根據教育局:「學校處於一個理想的位置可以推動和維護兒童、年青人、學校工作人員及社區的健康。」由此可見,(和香港不同)西澳政府不只著眼於學業成績。在政策制定的過程中,他們更加著眼於學生和他們的福祉。

澳洲全國推行的政策

除了校園健康促進框架以外,澳洲亦有若干全國推行的政策促進兒童福祉。這些政策需要澳洲政府、洲政府、地方政府、非政府組織和其他持份者的通力合作。

學校為本政策

全國學校安全框架為學校社群提供願景、指導原則、資源和工具,建設一個正面的學校文化和維護學生整體福祉。發展這個框架的是教育就業培訓及青年事務部,目的是建立一個可以提升學生福祉、支援學生建立正面關係和抗逆力的學校社群。

這個框架

  • 收集了現有的成功例子,並提供一個全國認可的方式,幫助學校和他們的群體回應欺凌、滋擾、暴力、虐兒和疏忽照顧等議題。
  • 根據現時學校文化對學生行為的影響確立可持續的方式,提升學生整體福祉。
  • 幫助學校社群建立一個安全的空間,以減少欺凌、滋擾和暴力的情況發生。

學生福祉網絡為教育工作者、家長和學生提供資訊和資源,讓他們可以有策略地建立和維持整體學校社群的福祉。這個網絡設立的目的是回應不同與學生福祉相關的議題,幫助學校建立一個正面、尊重的教與學社群。這些議題包括:精神及生理健康、防止欺凌、尊重差異、建立正面關係、安全和負責任的選擇、以及兒童網絡安全。

  • 為家長和學生而設的網絡平台
  • 家長可以尋找相關資訊,幫助他們支援他們的子女;與學校建立一個正面的關係;以及積極參與在學校社群當中。
  • 學生可以搜尋合適他們年齡的資訊和遊戲,以幫助他們明白與他們福祉有關的議題。

學生福祉網絡是一個澳洲政府所資助的計劃,當中包括洲政府、地方政府和非官校辦學團體等的參與。是次計劃是全國安全學校框架的一部分。

精神健康與兒童福祉

KidsMatter Primary
KidsMatter Primary提供資源、工具和方法,幫助學校與家長、照顧者、醫療界和社會各界合作,培育兒童快樂成長。這個計劃幫助學校從四個主要方面促進兒童的精神健康:

  • 一個正面的學校社群
  • 學生的社交和情緒學習
  • 家長支援和教育
  • 為有精神健康需要的學生進行早期介入

MindMatters
MindMatters是一個全國性的政策為中學學校提供系統、導和支援,讓他們能夠有策略地根據他們的獨特情況回應學生精神健康方面的需要,當中包括澳洲校長會提供的網上資源、活動、網上研討和支援。MindMatters由衞生資助,由BeyondBlue進一步發展。所有的內容都得到學校精神健康和福祉方面的研究支持。

除了上表所列,澳洲仍有其他與兒童福祉相關的項目。欲知更多資訊,請瀏覽以下網頁:
https://www.education.gov.au/student-resilience-and-wellbeing-resources
https://www.mychild.gov.au/families-carers/health-wellbeing

澳洲兒童事務委員會-兒童福祉的實踐經驗和政策建議

澳洲政府除了採取全國性的措施提升兒童福祉之外,澳洲的兒童事務委員會亦提供兒童福祉相關的實踐經驗和政策建議供社會各界參考。

一磚一瓦的建立-提升兒童和青少年福祉的實踐經驗
《一磚一瓦的建立》第一版和第二版列出並描述126個西澳以及其他州份和地方的成功實踐經驗。這些報告能夠幫助機構發掘有研究支持的項目,讓他們可以根據本地的實際需要回應兒童和青少年的議題。

政策建議
兒童事務委員會出版了一系列政策建議,回應《一磚一瓦的建立》第二版當中所討論的議題,包括:青少年健康、家庭關係、原住民兒童和青少年的教育、以及嬰幼兒健康。這些建議幫助政策制定者及與兒童相關的專業人士理解兒童福祉的不同範疇。

<<< 上一篇

世界各國的兒童福祉框架 – 了解每一個兒童真正的需要

 

下一篇 >>>

實用工具和框架

 

COMMENTS

Overseas frameworks: Policy implications

Overseas frameworks: Policy implications

Child well-being frameworks are useful in enhancing our understanding of the needs and challenges of our children. Nevertheless, understanding is not enough. How governments translate that understanding into actual policy plans and actions is an important issue. The following are some of the key initiatives Australian and British government have developed to enhance the well-being of children.

Nation-Wide Initiatives in the United Kingdom

Children and young people’s mental health and well-being

Children and young people’s mental health and well-being taskforce
The taskforce looks at how to improve the way children’s mental health services are organised, commissioned and provided and how to make it easier for young people to access help and support, including in schools, through voluntary organisations and online.

The taskforce brings together experts on children and young people’s mental health services and people who know about wider system transformation from education, social care and health. It commissions external advice from experts and others with experience in children and young people’s mental health.

Future in mind – promoting, protecting and improving our children and young people’s mental health and wellbeing
The children and young people’s mental health and well-being taskforce has issued a series of report called “Future in mind – promoting, protecting and improving our children and young people’s mental health and wellbeing” to make a number of proposals the government wishes to see by 2020. These include:

  • tackling stigma and improving attitudes to mental illness
  • introducing more access and waiting time standards for services
  • establishing ‘one stop shop’ support services in the community
  • improving access for children and young people who are particularly vulnerable

The report sets out how much of this can be achieved through better working between the National Health Service, local authorities, voluntary and community services, schools and other local services. It also makes it clear that many of these changes can be achieved by working differently, rather than needing significant investment.

The report also has a child-friendly version which specifically details the commitment the government and the taskforce have to children. The following is an example:

The Children’s Commissioner for England
In addition to the children and young people’s mental health and well-being taskforce, the Children’s Commissioner for England has also published reports to describe the importance of mental health and wellbeing among children and young people and the case for investment in mental health. They also summarise the evidence of what works to improve mental health among children and young people in order to inform local transformation of services.

School-based initiatives

Promoting children and young people’s emotional health and wellbeing
Public Health England has issued a report to provide guidance for head teachers and college principals on the 8 principles for promoting emotional health and wellbeing in schools and colleges. These 8 principles are informed by evidence and practitioner feedback about what works. It provides practical examples and resources to support the implementation of schools.

The report does not only target head teachers and college principals. It may also be of interest to school and college governing bodies, staff working in education settings, school nurses, local public health teams, academy chains and others with a role of promoting the health and well-being of children and learners.

Health, safety and wellbeing in schools
The government provides guideline and resources on different areas of student well-being for the reference of teachers and educators.

Western Australia – Health Promoting Schools Framework

The Health Promoting Schools Framework takes into account the physical, social and emotional needs of all members of the school community. It is based on the principles of the Ottawa Charter for Health Promotion (Ottawa, 1986) and was initiated by the World Health Organization. And it aims to provide students with positive experiences and structures that promote and protect their health through the three components of the Health Promoting Schools Framework:

The Health Promoting Schools process consists of a cycle of steps to guide and implement change in a flexible manner. It is expected that such a process be reviewed on an ongoing basis:

  • prepare
  • create a shared vision
  • select priorities
  • develop an action plan
  • put the plan into action
  • review, reflect and plan for the future

According to the Department of Health, “Schools are in an ideal position to promote and maintain the health of children, young people, school staff and the wider community.” This shows that the Western Australian government does not only see student’s academic performance and achievements when it comes to education (as is often the case in Hong Kong), it actually sees the students and their well-being at the center of its policymaking.

Nation-Wide Initiatives in Australia

In addition to the Health Promoting Schools Framework in Western Australia, Australia also has a few nation-wide initiatives to promote child well-being. These initiatives entail collaborative efforts by the Australian Government, State and Territory government and non-government school authorities and other key stakeholders.

School-based initiatives

National Safe Schools Framework provides school communities with a vision, a set of guiding principles, and practical tools and resources that will help build a positive school culture and whole-of-school safety and wellbeing policies. It was developed by the Ministerial Council on Education, Employment, Training and Youth Affairs. And it is part of a national approach to build safe and supportive school communities that promote positive relationships, resilience and wellbeing.

The Framework

  • incorporates existing good practice and provides an agreed national approach to help schools and their communities address issues of bullying, harassment, violence, and child abuse and neglect.
  • recognises the need for sustained positive approaches that include an appreciation of the ways in which social attitudes and values impact on the behaviour of students in our school communities.
  • assists all school communities in building safe and supportive schools to reduce bullying, harassment and violence.

The Student Wellbeing Hub contains a wealth of Australian Curriculum aligned information and resources for educators, parents, and students on strategies to build and sustain the wellbeing of the whole school community. It is designed to be responsive to issues affecting students and schools to build positive, respectful and supportive teaching and learning communities. It includes key topics including: healthy minds and bodies; protecting against bullying; respecting diversity; building positive relationships; safe and responsible choices; and being safe online.

Parents and students have dedicated sections of the Hub.

  • Parents can browse information and advice to help them: support their child; build positive communication with their child’s school; and
  • contribute actively to the wider school community.
  • Students will find age-appropriate information, advice, and games that build their understanding of topics and issues important to their wellbeing at school and beyond.

The Hub is funded by the Australian Government, working with state and territory governments, the non-government school sector, and Education Services Australia. It is underpinned by the National Safe Schools Framework.

Mental Health and Well-Being of Children

KidsMatter Primary
KidsMatter Primary provides the methods, tools and support to help schools work with parents and carers, health services and the wider community, to nurture happy, balanced children. It assists schools in four key areas that strengthen protective factors and minimise risk factors for students’ mental health:

  • A positive school community
  • Social and emotional learning for all students
  • Parenting support and education
  • Early intervention for students experiencing mental health difficulties

MindMatters
MindMatters is a national mental health initiative that provides structure, guidance and support for secondary schools to build their own mental health strategy to suit their unique circumstances.  It includes online resources, face-to-face events, webinars and support, delivered by Principals Australia Institute. It is funded by the Department of Health and has been re-developed by BeyondBlue. All content has been informed by strong evidence in the area of school mental health and wellbeing.

The list above is not exhaustive. For more information, please visit the following websites:
https://www.education.gov.au/student-resilience-and-wellbeing-resources
https://www.mychild.gov.au/families-carers/health-wellbeing

Best practices and policy recommendations of the Child Commissioner in Australia

Not only has the Australian government adopted different nation-wide measures to promote well-being, the Child Commissioner also offers best practices and policy recommendations in response to its assessment of the child well-being situation in Australia.

Building Blocks – Best practice programs that improve the wellbeing of children and young people
Together, Building Blocks Edition One and Edition Two list and describe 126 best practice and promising programs from WA and other states and territories. The reports can be used by agencies to identify evidence-based programs that may be suitable, with adaptation for local needs, to address areas where children and young people’s wellbeing is of concern.

Policy Briefs
The Commissioner has published a series of policy briefs that relate to the specific issues identified in Building Blocks Edition Two, such as adolescent health, family relationships, aboriginal children and young people’s education, and maternal and infant health. These policy briefs help inform policy makers and child-related professionals on specific areas of child well-being.

<<< Previous article

Overseas frameworks: Assessing the needs of each and every child

 

Next article >>>

Useful tools and frameworks

 

COMMENTS