实用工具和框架

实用工具和框架

如何询问儿童的看法并让他们的意见有效地影响实际决定

Children’s Society是一个英国专门服务弱势儿童和年青人的慈善团体。他们所收集有关儿童的数据以及量度儿童福祉的工具被英国政府以及与儿童相关的专业人士广泛使用。以下是他们所建立的一些实用工具,用以询问儿童的看法让他们的意见有效地影响实际决定。

「小朋友,你近来过得好吗?」

Children’s Society设计了一个「好童年」指标,以量度儿童的主观幸福感,包括:他们认为要获得快乐最重要的是什么,他们近来的生活质素以及他们生活质素历年来的改变。他们询问儿童是否同意以下的论述:

  • 我的生活过得很好。
  • 我的生活恰到好处
  • 我希望我过着不同的生活。
  • 我有一个很好的人生。
  • 生活中我想要的我都有。

他们亦让儿童由0至10量度他们对于生活之中不同事物的满意程度(0的意思是非常不开心;10的意思是非常开心;5的意思是既没有开心也没有不开心):

  • 整体来说,你对于你的生活有多满意
  • 你对你和家人的关系有多满意
  • 你对于你生活中有的选择有多满意
  • 你对于你一切所有的(例如金钱和其他你拥有的东西)有多满意
  • 你对于你的健康有多满意
  • 你对于你和朋友的关系有多满意
  • 你对于你的外表(你的样子)有多满意
  • 你对于之后可能在你身上发生的事(你的未来)有多满意
  • 你对于你居住的地方有多满意
  • 你对于你的学校有多满意
  • 你对于你可以运时间有多满意

The Children’s Society亦就着儿童不同方面的需要收集他们的意见,包括他们的家庭、居所、选择和自主权、学校、健康、外表、时间管理、金钱和所拥有的东西、对于未来的乐观程度、社区、正面和负面情绪以及精神健康。

如欲参阅他们的问卷,请浏览这个网站

让儿童的意见有效地影响政策制定过程

聆听儿童很重要,但更重要的是让他们的意见有效地影响和他们有关的实际决定;否则,一切都只是徒劳无功。在政策制定过程中考虑儿童福祉的重要性

The Children’s Society制作了一个框架让政府可以量度和检讨他们的政策和服务是否真正回应儿童的需要。这个框架的详细内容详列于《推动儿童福祉:一个专为会、中央和地区政府而设的报告》

正如上述可见,the Children’s Society先透过「好童年」指标找出儿童福祉的六大重要因素:

接着,他们分析现时的政策和服务可以如何满足儿童的各种需要。这种分析可以帮助政府研发新的政策以及检讨现有的政策。 Children’s Society亦确保他们的分析涵括不同的政府部门及与儿童有关的持份者,包括教育界、医疗及福利界、法律界人士,让他们可以参考。

这个框架以儿童福祉为起点同时也是终点:起点是改善儿童的福祉,终点是检讨现时政策和服务是否可以改善儿童福祉;对于香港来说确实是有很大的启发-可以确保支撑着儿童生命和福祉巨大的各个系统在清晰的愿景引导下有效地保障儿童。

<<< 上一篇

世界各国的儿童福祉框架 - 政策含义

 

下一篇 >>>

参考资料

 

COMMENTS

Useful tools and frameworks

Useful tools and frameworks

How to ask children and make their opinions count in decision-making

Children’s Society is a British charity that works for vulnerable children and young people. The data it has collected and the frameworks it has developed on the well-being of children have been widely used by the government and child-related professionals. The below are some useful tools developed by the Children’s Society to ask children how life is going for them and to make the voice of children count in policy decision-making.

Asking Children How Life is Going For Them

Children’s Society has developed the Good Childhood Index to find out the subjective well-being of children: what is most important for young people to have a good life, how life is going for children and whether their situation has changed over the years. They ask children how far they agree or disagree with the below statements:

  • My life is going well.
  • My life is just right.
  • I wish I had a different kind of life.
  • I have a good life.
  • I have what I want in life.

They also ask children to rate from 0 to 10 how happy they are with different things in their life (0 meaning very unhappy; 10 meaning very happy; 5 meaning neither happy nor unhappy):

  • How happy are you with your life as a whole?
  • How happy are you with your relationships with your family?
  • How happy are you with how much choice you have in life?
  • How happy are you with the things that you have (like money and the things you own)?
  • How happy are you with your health?
  • How happy are you with your relationships with your friends?
  • How happy are you with your appearance (the way that you look)?
  • How happy are you with what may happen to you later in your life (in the future)?
  • How happy are you with the home that you live in?
  • How happy are you with the school that you go to?
  • How happy are you with the way that you use your time?

The Children’s Society also specifically ask questions about different areas of children well-being, such as family, home, choice and autonomy, school, health, appearance, time use, money and possessions, optimism/the future, local area, positive and negative emotions, and psychological well-being.

For a sample copy of its questionnaire, please visit this website.

Making the Voice of Children Count in Policy Decision-Making

Not only is it important to listen to the voice of children, it is crucial to make their opinion count in decision-making related to them, or else all asking and listening would be in vain. The importance of considering child well-being in policy-making

The Children’s Society has produced a framework whereby policy makers can measure and evaluate how far their policies and services are responding to the subjective well-being of children. This framework is summarized in its report “Promoting positive well-being for children: A report for decision-makers in parliament, central government and local areas”.

In this framework, the Children’s Society first seek to discover six priorities for children’s well-being through its Good Childhood Index (as mentioned above):

It then analyzes how the needs of children can be met through policies and services. This analysis can help policy makers to come up with new policy initiatives and to evaluate the effect of existing policies. The Children’s Society also makes sure that its analysis covers different government departments and stakeholders that are related to children, including those in the fields of education, health and social care, criminal justice, welfare and other public services.

This approach treats child well-being as both the starting point and the ending point: the starting point is to improve child well-being; the ending point is to evaluate how far the existing policy initiatives contribute to the well-being of children. This framework is very insightful to Hong Kong as it can ensure that the massive system that is supporting the lives and well-being of our children are guided by a clear philosophy in a systematic way.

<<< Previous article

Overseas frameworks: Policy implications

 

Next article >>>

Reference

 

COMMENTS